Shaw dominates all-conference roster

April 14, 2010

Petersburg, VA – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association named the 2010 All-CIAA Women’s Tennis Team on Wednesday evening during the Spring Sports Championship Awards Ceremony held inside Harris Hall on the campus of Virginia State University. Lolia Kienka (Lagos, Nigeria) from Shaw University was awarded the Women’s Player of the Year and Samantha Barnes (Hampton, VA) from Johnson C. Smith University earned Rookie of the Year honors.

Kienka concluded the season with an astonishing 22-1 singles record and 20-2 doubles mark. Kienka’s only singles loss came at the hands of a Division I opponent and she went undefeated in the CIAA against singles and doubles competition.

Other All-CIAA honorees from Shaw include Fernanda Silva (Sao Paulo, Brazil), Livia Oliveria (Sao Paulo, Brazil), Evan Okafor (Lagos, Nigeria), and Xania Steele (Gaithersburg, MD).

Johnson C. Smith and Virginia State both had two student-athletes selected All-CIAA. Jae Hargett (Minneapolis, MN) and Tyra Breaux (Baltimore, MD) represented the Golden Bulls and Donna Johnson (Washington, D.C.) and Tamilia Hicks (Las Vegas, NV) were the Lady Trojan representatives on the all-conference team.

Barnes played in the No. 1 singles and doubles slot with partner Hargett. Barnes was 13-12 overall and 11-4 in the CIAA for singles competition.

Michelle Thomas (Clementon, NJ) from Virginia Union University, Krystyan Fleming (Edenton, NC) from Elizabeth City State University, and Shantana Donegans (Brooklyn, NY) from Fayetteville State University round out the All-CIAA team as the lone representative from their institutions.

All 12 student-athletes will be competing for their institution in the 2010 Women’s Tennis Championships April 15-17th at the VSU Tennis Complex. A champion will be determined on Saturday, April 17th, barring inclement weather.