S-A Advisory Committee

ECSU's Green selected for USOC program

ECSU's Green selected for USOC program

June 30, 2010

Stephen M. Green, the CIAA National Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Representative, has been selected to attend United States Olympic Committee F.L.A.M.E.( Finding Leaders Among Minorities Everywhere) summer program in Colorado Springs,Colorado..
The program will be held July 24-27, 2010 at the Olympic training facilities.
The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and its family of dedicated Olympic sponsors have empowered minority students with the F.L.A.M.E. (Finding Leaders Among Minorities Everywhere) program, a dynamic, educational program packed with leadership enhancement opportunities.Stephen Green

With the support of official presenting sponsor, Tyson Foods, Inc., F.L.A.M.E. is designed to inspire minority college students to cultivate their desire to succeed and rise above the ordinary.  The young men and women selected to participate, who already demonstrate a pursuit of excellence within their own communities, have the opportunity to further their personal and professional growth through unique seminars and workshops led by Olympic and Paralympic athletes, USOC and National Governing Body (NGB) leaders and others who have achieved personal, professional or athletic success in life.

During the four-day program, F.L.A.M.E. participants will reside in the Olympic Training Center dormitory, eat at the Athlete Dining Hall, and have daily opportunities to interact with Olympians, Paralympians, and hopefuls. The program’s itinerary includes motivational presentations by Olympians and Paralympians, leadership seminars conducted by USOC and NGB staff leaders, networking and financial literacy workshops, Olympic/Paralympic sport demonstrations, field trips to local attractions, and information on the USOC Internship Program.         

Previous speakers at the F.L.A.M.E. program have included Olympians and Paralympians such as the legendary 10,000 meter gold medalist Billy Mills (1960); silver and gold  speedskating medalist Derek Parra (1998, ’02); and Paralympic track & field gold and bronze medalist April Holmes (2004, ‘08) to name a few.  Presenters for the 2010 session will be selected in the coming weeks.