NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Committee announces 2006 Championship Bracket

NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Committee announces 2006 Championship Bracket

NCCU to face Lock Haven on November 9

November 5, 2006

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball Committee announced the field of 64 teams for the 2006 NCAA Division II Women’s Volleyball Championship.  The committee selected eight teams from each of the following regions to participate in the championship:  Atlantic, Great Lakes, North Central, Northeast, Pacific, South, South Central and Southwest.
Eight eight-team regionals will be played at on-campus sites.  Regional competition will be single-elimination, best three-of-five game matches and will not include a third-place match.  The winners of each of the eight regionals will advance to the finals, November 16-18, at the NCAA Division II Fall Championships Festival held on the campus of the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida.  Competition at the finals site will be single-elimination, best three-of-five game matches.

The dates, sites and team match-ups are:

Atlantic Region

November 9-11 at Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
*Lock Haven (Host) (29-5) vs. *North Carolina Central (32-12);
Clarion (20-11) vs. Kutztown (23-7);
Slippery Rock (30-8) vs. Indiana (Pennsylvania) (16-13);
*Lees-McRae (29-7) vs. California (Pennsylvania) (28-6)

Great Lakes Region

November 9-11 at Hillsdale, Michigan
Hillsdale (Host) (28-1) vs. *West Virginia State (25-8);
*Ashland (20-9) vs. Ferris State (21-8);
Southern Illinois Edwardsville (27-5) vs. Michigan Tech (15-14);
*Lewis (25-5) vs. Grand Valley State (26-3)

North Central Region

November 9-11 at St. Paul, Minnesota
*Concordia-St. Paul (Host) (34-2) vs. Northern State (17-13);
Southwest Minnesota State (27-8) vs. Wayne State (Nebraska) (29-7);
Nebraska-Omaha (21-6) vs. Augustana (South Dakota) (14-13);
Minnesota State Mankato (17-12) vs. *Minnesota Duluth (27-3)

Northeast Region

November 9-11 at West Haven, Connecticut
*Dowling (33-6) vs. *Georgian Court (21-10);
Saint Rose (25-5) vs. New York Institute of Technology (18-7);
New Haven (Host) (23-13) vs. C.W. Post (21-12);
Bryant (21-18) vs. *Bentley (26-10)

Pacific Region

November 9-11 at San Bernardino, California
*Cal State San Bernardino (Host) (25-1) vs. Central Washington (19-7);
Cal State Chico (20-5) vs. *Seattle Pacific (24-2);
Brigham Young-Hawaii (20-0) vs. Cal State L.A. (17-8);
Western Washington (18-6) vs. UC San Diego (23-2)

South Region

November 9-11 at Tampa, Florida
Tampa (Host) (29-1) vs. *Wingate (22-7);
Barry (15-13) vs. Eckerd (21-13);
*Florida Southern (30-4) vs. Lynn (15-13);
*South Carolina-Aiken (28-6) vs. Florida Gulf Coast (27-2)

South Central Region

November 9-11 at Kirksville, Missouri
*Truman (Host) (35-1) vs. *Albany State (Georgia) (15-20);
Pittsburg State (22-11) vs. *North Alabama (30-5);
Central Missouri State (27-6) vs. Missouri Southern State (23-11);
West Florida (19-14) vs. Washburn (27-8)

Southwest Region

November 9-11 at Canyon, Texas
*West Texas A&M (Host) (30-3) vs. Abilene Christian (18-10);
*Montana State-Billings (25-4) vs. Western New Mexico (26-6);
Mesa State (17-14) vs. Nebraska-Kearney (28-7);
Fort Lewis (20-9) vs. *Metropolitan State (20-9)

* Denotes conference automatic qualification

On December 3, 2005, the Grand Valley State Lakers won their first Division II Women’s Volleyball Championship by defeating Nebraska-Kearney, breaking the Lopers’ 66-match home winning streak.  Grand Valley State won the championship in four games:  30-18, 30-27, 25-30 and 30-24.